Mommy needs a beer… or 5.

Happy Sunday readers (all three of you.) Sundays are meant for family… so I was taught growing up. You want to know how my Sunday is going? Right now, I am rocking my teething child in his swing while watching Mickey Mouse (I HATE Mickey Mouse with a passion by the way,) while also baking brownies that I’m pretty sure I put too much of something in for my other half who is out getting his truck stuck with his buddies as I sit here doing all of this (which is why he is my other half, not better half… he doesn’t deserve better half right now.) Every bit of this house has been cleaned, my laundry is done, bedding and all, and I somehow made it to Target, bought groceries and got my Starbucks before I got too cranky! Happy Sunday to me. While mixing those runny brownies together, I realized something. I am a real mom/ housewife now. You know what else I realized? I should’ve traded that Starbucks for a beer instead because I deserve it. I actually deserve 5 at this point. Don’t get me wrong, Pinot Grigio has my heart… but I need something a little more un-ladylike because here I am being a freaking lady and I can’t stand it. I have held back every cuss word today, I haven’t even went off on other half for not letting me know when he’s going to be home. You can’t get much more lady-ish. I know, I know. I’m a mom. No fun for me. You know what though? I can’t be this little shy, striving for perfection housewife for the rest of my life. I know that its in now. I see the posts about preparing clean eating for your family every night of the week and having your hair, nails and makeup done every day while wearing a cute frilly apron, baking and sipping half a glass of wine but I CAN’T DO IT. I can drink my fair share of Starbs just like all of you and shop at Target and love the color of pink but thats as far as it goes. I’m not going to be one of these modern moms. Let’s face it, I have a very small window at night for taking a shower before I pass out wherever I am standing. This momma needs to be a little wild without all that judgement on the cookie cutter mommas faces. Let’s all get together and agree that the guidelines to being “Worlds best mom” now are a little ridiculous. Today, I decided that becoming a mom isn’t going to take away who I am. I can be a little crazy if I want. I can be a little wild. I can have a few beers instead of always being the responsible one. I can be talkative, cuss a little and even order take out tonight because I am too lazy to cook the meal I had planned. If everyone would just decide this, mommin might be a little more easier!

Leave a Reply

